Follow us on Facebook Twitter YouTube RSS

FSU Honors Excellence At Spring Scholarship Banquet

FAIRMONT, W.Va. -- Fairmont State honored its top student-athletes of the 2011-12 season at the annual Fairmont State Athletic Association (FSAA) Spring Scholarship Banquet on Saturday.

FSU first paid tribute to outstanding team accomplishments during the 2011-12 year starting with the men's and women's cross country teams, along with women's swimming, which all earned All-Academic honors. That status is granted by the competitive roster maintaining over a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.

Fairmont State then also recognized Academic All-American football players Dewey McDonald and Frank Keenan, along with kick returner Matt Wilmer who led the nation in average punt return yards. Falcon swimmer Kathryn Saurborn was awarded her All-America plaque after finishing eighth in the country in the 50 free. Junior point guard Kaitlin Snyder was recognized for her outstanding season that saw her earn WVIAC and Atlantic Region Player of the Year recognition, as well as second team All-America and second team Academic All-America honors.

After Jimbo Fisher provided the keynote address, Franc Stern was awarded the L.O. Bickel Service Award for his work with the FSAA. Former Falcon football player David "Tuffy" Knight was recognized as the Letterwinner of Distinction for his distinguished coaching career in Canada.

The Feaster Award, given to the senior student-athletes who have maintained the highest GPA for their careers, where awarded to Danielle South (golf) and Garrett Fetty (baseball). The Colebank Award, given to the student-athletes who have done the most to promote the best interest of Fairmont State, was awarded to Morgan Walls (volleyball) and Steve Custis (basketball).